Prison Vegan Catering Information
Definition of a Vegan
Veganism may be defined as a way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as possible and practical, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose.
In dietary terms it refers to the practice of dispensing with all animal produce - including meat, fish, poultry, eggs, animal milks, honey, and their derivatives.
Abhorrence of the cruel practices inherent in an agricultural system based on the abuse of animals is probably the single most common reason for the adoption of veganism, but many people are drawn to it for health, ecological, resource, spiritual and other reasons.
The above information was obtained from the The Vegan Society formed in 1944 as it had recognised the ethical compromises implicit in lacto-vegetarianism (i.e. dairy-dependent). You can get more information on veganism or a free information pack from the Vegan Society.
Definition of a Vegetarian
A vegetarian is someone living on a diet of grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits with or without the use of dairy products and eggs.
A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or crustacea, or slaughter by-products.
Types of Vegetarians
- Eats both dairy products and eggs. This is the most common type of vegetarian diet.
- Eats dairy products but not eggs.
- Does not eat dairy products, eggs, or any other animal product.
Many foods contain ingredients derived from the slaughter of animals. Gelatine is made from animal ligaments, tendons, bones etc which have been boiled in water. It is often found in confectionery, low fat spreads and desserts, and other dairy products.
The term animal fat refers to carcass fat and may be present in a wide range of foods, including biscuits, cakes, and margarines. Suet and lard are types of animal fats. Certain food additives (E numbers) may be derived from animal sources.
Cheese is often made with rennet extracted from the stomach lining of slaughtered calves. Vegetarian cheese is made with rennet from a microbial source.
The Vegetarian Society has an information sheet listing ingredients which may be unsuitable for vegetarians. Many vegetarians that eat eggs will eat only free-range eggs. This is due to moral objections to the battery farming of hens. The Vegetarian Society onlyendorses products containing eggs if the eggs are certified as free-range.
Practices in Catering
Vegetarians dining out will expect work surfaces and chopping boards, utensils and all other kitchen equipment and facilities to be either kept separate from those used for non-vegetarian food preparation, or cleaned thoroughly before vegetarian food preparation.
Caterers should also ensure that fryers, grills and griddles used for preparing non-vegetarian products are thoroughly cleaned. Fryers must be filled with fresh, uncontaminated oil before vegetarian food is cooked. The Society recommends that caterers keep a separate set of utensils for the preparation and serving of vegetarian meals.
The above information was provided by the Vegetarian Society of the United Kingdom.